Skip to content

Hate your job? Please don’t startup

April 17, 2011

A lot of people around me keep telling me how much they hate their jobs and how has the corporate world not turned out to be what they had imagined to be be.

A lot of them say that I want to startup, because of this reason. This very statement reappearing in front of me multiple times set me thinking and thinking hard.

To me, this seemed like the most foolish reason to startup. Really!!! you wan’t to startup because you hate your job, what kinda logic is that.

So I though of a few reasons why you could hate your job and I will list them for you

  1. You might be working in the wrong industry
    A Computer Science student might never enjoy the lavish lifestyle of a FMCG giant (that’s really no fun and no sense :D, but still a lot of people I know end up doing that)
  2. You might be working for the wrong company
    Some companies are not meant to work for, but you didn’t know that when you joined
  3. Your boss might be a @$#@$#
    Everyone is not as lucky to have a boss that he would love to die for, the world is full of idiots and you might have landed under one of them.

And if I would think a little deeper I might end up writing a blog post on “reasons to hate your Job”, which is not the intent here.

The point I am trying to drive here is that there can be plethora of reasons why you don’t like your job, and none of them might be reason enough for you to be a successful entrepreneur.

For one to be an entrepreneur he needs to be driven by

  1. The zeal to find out what he wants to do
  2. The zeal to be the best in the world in what he wants to do.
  3. The street smartness to understand why people will pay your for being the best in that field

For everyone reading this post, this post is not written to demotivate you to do a startup but for you to understand why you want to do a startup and then jump into the journey of the lifetime.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 3:06 am

    great insight 🙂

  2. April 18, 2011 6:06 am

    true indeed!

  3. Shaunak permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:07 am

    Nice Article Abhinav, wonder what u feel about ur job and the reasons u hate out of the three if u do. pls reply 🙂

    • April 19, 2011 6:36 am

      Hehe, I havent yet started hating my job, its kinda new experience for me, I have been liking it

  4. April 19, 2011 11:59 am

    I agree but not many start up because they get bored by their job .. but because they think that they can do something which does not exist or they think that they can do it in a better way .

Trackbacks

  1. Fill the gap – Be an innovator « bloginnovation

Leave a Reply

